Fasting

Hi! I am new to keto ( started 9 days ago) and had a question about fasting. Do you have to start fasting right away? I suffer from migraines and that is the only part I am worried about. I haven’t had any migraines since starting, actually have been feeling really well, I think it’s all the water I’m drinking, close to 100 oz a day. I also have Ultima as an electrolyte supplement, so I feel good! 

I wonder with just starting out, I stop eating at 730 and won’t have anything else until 630-7am the next day, can that count as a fasting period first at least? 

If not, how can slowly add in fasting periods, can you do like 3hr or 4 hrs increments? 

Thank you you so much! 

26replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • When you stop eating in the evening  and it is 8 hours (or more) before you eat that is fasting.   I have GERD and know that anything after 7:30 PM is not good.  When I get up at 7:30 am it is usually an hour or so before I eat so I have fasted for 14 hours. Hope this helps.  The only thing worth stressing about with Keto is your droopy clothes as you drop the weight :)

Like 1
    • Samantha
    • Sdyer
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

debra06201374ad thank you this helps a lot! Sometimes I think I am overthinking a lot of stuff : ) 

Like 1
    • Debi
    • Debi.8
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

Hey Samantha I’m on this for migraine too!!! 

Like 2
  • I started keto by doing a 48 hour fast and then eating. I also suffer from migraines and fibromyalgia. Migraines haven’t been an issue as much as my joint pains. 

As for the fasting question, you fast while you sleep so if your last meal is at 7:30 pm by 8 am you’re already 13.5 hours in! Good luck. 

Like 2
  • Samantha  I over think everything also. But I say do as I say not as I do LOLOL

Like 2
    • Samantha
    • Sdyer
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view