Measuring your meat

Hey all ! I am a bit confused with Carb manager’s meat nutrition. If you look up chicken thigh or chicken leg in food search, the results that come  have bones weight in it ? Like if I measure my chicken thigh and leg it makes 250 grams but if I take bones out the meat that remains is only 100 grams . So how do I add that to my day ? 

7replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
    • Dru
    • Dru
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

Hello I am a beginner this is my 2nd day so I would like to know. I just add the cook chicken thigh or drumstick.

• I use  bone in, skin on chicken and weigh each piece.  

• Dru If you search for calories of cooked meat vs raw the calculations for cooked is higher.  There is a scientific reason which I can not explain. I found it interesting that cooked meat has more calories :) 

• Meera_a
    • Meera_a
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

Dru hello, as far as I know we measure raw meat not cooked , or if you measure cooked meat you search for cooked meat in database and add that to your log 

Like 1
    • Meera_a
    • Meera_a
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

debra06201374ad  hey , I do the same , but you think that’s exactly what CM has ? They have bone weight included in the weight that comes in chicken thigh or chicken leg search that comes up? 

Like 1
  • Meera_a  I think so because I did buy boneless skinless and they had a weight for it.  

• Karbndall
    • Start-7/2019, hit goal-9/2019
    • Karbndall
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view