Ketones too high

I just bought test strips and I am wayyyy high. How do I adjust this? 

TIA

15replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • I was too last night.  I went from Small to the highest option on the Nurse Hatty strips.  On their site, they mention this can be due to being dehydrated, or not eating enough carbs.  I had drank over a gallon of water that day, and had been constantly drinking water, so I adjusted my carbs for the day. 

Tested this morning and I was back to Small on the strips.  I am still learning all this, so someone else might be able to say if this is a BS correlation?  But following the advice in the site to raise my carbs 5g-10g seemed to get me back to the recommended levels on the strips.  Maybe someone else can add something to this?  Either way, good luck!!

Like 1
  • What color should they be for optimal results?   Mine vary from pink to purple.  

• I honestly am not an expert but their site says staying pink is optimal, so Small to Moderate.  Anything higher is not necessarily "better."  I am working off of that premise.

I'd love to hear from someone else who might have a little more experience with using them?  Second week here on Keto myself, so trying to take it all in. :) 

Like 1
    • ShortGuy
    • Just a normal dude
    • ShortGuy
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

Milamber48 Small to moderate is good. However urine test strips aren’t an accurate way to test. They’re good initially to show you’re achieving ketosis. Once your body gets efficient in ketone usage & fat adapted you can read small or even negative. Keep that in mind. Urine test strips only detect waste ketones. If the body uses them up efficiently, it means there can be  little to no waste. If you want accurate monitoring, breath & blood testing are the way to go. Neither are necessary unless you really want to monitor. I’m simple & prefer to let the tape & scale gauge things. 😁

Like 2
  • Hi ShortGuy  -