Confused About Urine Ketone Testing

I have been living keto for about 2 months. I am confused as to the urine testing strips. The research I've done online just leaves me more confused. My tests most often come out with a 'trace' ketone result however some of the information I've read states that a higher level  indicates deeper  ketosis. Most information I've read states that a reading of 1.5 - 3.0 mmol/l is optimal which from what I can tell is around the 'trace' readings I'm getting. 

Thank you for your help :)

7replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • I'm a relative beginner to Keto, so my answer might not be perfect, but I've been doing a lot of research. From what I've seen the urine testing strips measure ketones that your body was unable to use, an excess of ketones. If you measure ketones with a blood test, that's where you will likely see those numbers of 1-3. As long as you are getting trace amounts of ketones on your urine strips, you are likely doing okay. Your body is probably using most of the ketones for energy.

Again, I'm no doctor or anything like that. I've learned what I know mostly from YouTube (Dr. Berg, Dr. Boz, and Thomas DeLauer among others).

Like 2
  • Holly Winters 

Thank you! I just felt like all the info I was reading was contradicting each other. Some said higher ketones meant higher fat burning which didn't make sense to me because if you're burning ketones for energy I would believe a low reading would be better. I appreciate it!

Like 1
  • I'm having the same difficulty.  Im losing weight and inches, and following the macronutrients guidelines, but I've never shown more than a trace on the strips.  Frustrating !

• Thank you, I thought my age (62) and metabolism could be the problem.....

• Nancy
    • Nancy.79
    • 2 yrs ago
    • Reported - view