Hi. I am a 67 year old female on KETO.

My name is Lee and I am 67 year old female. I have been doing Keto since August of 2018. So far I have lost 45 pounds and I am looking and feeling better. I still have around 65 pounds to go. My biggest concern with my KETO diet is I have 'Metabolic Syndrome' with the complication of adrenal issues. ( It took years to finally find a doctor who recognized the symptoms and during those years the weight kept coming.) With this problem I want to avoid the carbs but also limit the protein in my diet. For me the protein turns to glucose if I have too much.  The 20% that is normally allowed on my diet is too many. My problem has been finding foods and the balance of these foods to get all of my macros filled. So I would appreciate recommendations and advise.

Thanks and I look forward to meeting you all. Lee

10replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
    • Alana
    • Alana.2
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

Thanks for this story Lee. I'm around your age and will be starting my journey. This keeps me encouraged. 

Like 1
  • I have read that you can set up carb manager to your specific goals. 

Like 1
    • Linklynn
    • Linklynn
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

Hi Lee. I am 61 and started Keto last Sunday April 14, 2019 and have lost 8 pounds. I have tried every diet in the world and decided I needed to change my way of eating. My grocery bill for the week went from $75 (for just me) to $45. I am sure it will be less as I find out what I really want to eat - pick and choose from! I feel 50% better than I did last week and actually breathe without struggling for air. This is a real change for me - and your post is encouraging! Hopefully I can help later on, with advising on the macros! Looking forward to sharing! - Lynn

Like 3
    • Teriann11
    • Teriann11
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view