Two months in - love the app but frustrated with no weight loss.

I have been tracking all macros closely for two months and only lost a pound. I feel better and know it is the right way to eat but frustrated by not seeing the scale move. It didn’t make scientific sense since reducing calories alone should show results. After six weeks, I had labwork done that shows high fasting glucose and a1C markers, which explains why I couldn’t get into ketosis. Although the doctor put me on a low dose of metformin, the BG isn’t dropping enough (average 120) to get into ketosis (average .5 and highest .9). The doctor doesn’t want to increase meds because the BG levels are in an acceptable range. So although eating Keto is perfect for glucose intolerance and overall health, it isn’t enough alone to lose weight. My journey continues and  I will try to add more exercise, drink more water (flushing BG sugar out), and add supplements to aid ketosis.   

I write all of this to simply say there are a lot of variables that need to be tracked and adjusted... Carb Manager is the perfect app for that. (I sent my doctor screenshots of all my readings) 

13replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
    • TK
    • orchid_sky
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

I feel your pain.  I have been on Keto for a month and have only gained and lost the same pound and inches.  I do not know what to do.  It takes so much work to do this way of eating and without having anything to motivate you this is becoming a drag.  I am tired all the time which I was not at all before.  I know I am not fat adapted yet but have no idea why.. I do take meds for Fibro and the Lyrica can causes weight gain but I have been on these meds for 8 years and gained a few pounds and have been fighting this for years.  I walk a ton lift weights and have been low carb forever and am a healty eater.  I am also 55 and petite so trying to loose 5-7 pounds is very difficult on any diet.