First Week Testing On Keto

Hello all - 

I just took my first ketone test using the Nurse Hatty Ketone Test Strips.  I have been doing the keto diet for 4 days now, 30g of carbs a day. 

Based on the strip results, it appears I am in ketosis on some level, as it came back Small: 1.5 mg/dl.  This is my first time doing this, so I am curious if others have used these strips before, and what that really means, beyond being in ketosis on some level?

Also curious if others think the strips are good, or have other suggestions.  I am hoping if I am strict after this first week to improve that score. 

Thanks for any advice

5replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
    • Laura
    • Laura.50
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

I’m curious too. I just started Keto this week and was thinking about buying the testing strips . Let me know how it goes 

• Neise
    • I need help!
    • Neise
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

I've been doing this about a month and mine came back small! I don't know what to do to increase it🤷🏾‍♀️

• karen
    • karen.55
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

hi

I am on week 3 and use the urine strips daily  to show I am in ketosis . I get slightly different results depending on morning or evening but now stick to the morning .Mine started off as small but now are moderate to high most days - they seemed to increase when I got my fat percentages and protein macros close but it could have just been  because of getting more into ketosis - still learning about keto . Only one day did they drop and that was when I was given local anesthectic but went back up next day.

If I have alcohol in moderation they dont seem to be affected so all good I assume and I like to know I am in ketosis so that I know it is working 

• Hi Karen -