Three weeks behind me. Still zero energy.

I started keto Oct 13. I studied and read all I could to be able to do it healthy.   Starting weight  285.  Within two weeks I lost 18 lbs of fluid.  I drank mostly dr peppers and had a high carb diet.   The rapid weight loss being fluid is expected.  There is very little change in clothes.   

I stay 20 net carbs and the correct ratios of fat/protein.  Just under 1500 calories.  I have lost 19 lbs all together.  There have been days I did t eat my limits because I could not get it together to have food to eat or feel up to preparing it   

My problem is fatigue and weakness.  I have zero energy.  The last three weeks has been very little activity.  I am 61 years old.  I take supplements and keep the electrolytes up.  Advice, idea, anything will help.  Thank you.  

11replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
    • Karbndall
    • Start-7/2019, hit goal-9/2019
    • Karbndall
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

Advice: Stick with it..  My guess is, you are not fat adapted yet.  It seems three weeks is about the time most people feel the energy loss.  Was for me.  I was cutting the grass thinking "What is wrong with me?"  It really should get better.  You said "correct ratios of fat/protein"?  You're hitting your protein and fat grams for the day?  I have a theory I'm working on about fat intake in the first few weeks.

• You’re definitely not fat adapted yet. That can take several weeks.  You ate a lot of carbs before you started keto, so your body is used to having access to a lot of glucose for energy.  You’re in withdrawal. Just keep going, make sure the carbs stay low and right now just eat to satiety with plenty of fats and adequate protein.  When you feel better then limit calories.  1500 calories seems low at your weight, consider 100-200 more calories a day. As you lose you can adjust calories downward.  

• SALLY
    • SALLY.19
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view