Hi, Newbie here for Vegan Keto for health

Hi, I am 38 and a healthy weight that I want to maintain but I am hoping I can manage the Keto diet way of eating to bring about healthy changes to my mind and body. I have been vegan for 10 years now and a relatively healthy eating one 75% of the time but I’m human and hormonal at times which drives me to the vegan junk and convenience foods. So those habits may be harder to overcome. I have also noticed on my suggested macros that my protein levels are over double what I am used to consuming . I never had to worry about getting my recommended 45g of protein a day, but now I should be aiming for 98g? And it not be tied into carbs... I am only just realising how tied in that relationship is and my reliance on carbs in the form of grains like rice & quinoa and pulses. 
As I suffer from chronic illness and physical health problems, I really like the idea (and science) that by radically changing my nutrient intake I can reduce the inflammation in my body, sleep better, have better mental clarity and more energy. All I need help with. But I am not willing to change my being vegan - so please no suggestions or comments about that.

If anyone has any good tips, or suggestions for being a successful vegan Keto person, I hope you will find the time to comment. 

1reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
    • januaryvista
    • Vegetarian Keto Adventurer
    • januaryvista
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

I really relate to your post — and am disappointed at the lack of responses.  I, too, am a long-time vegan, at a healthy weight, prone to allowing too much of the junk food in my life, and wanting to reduce carbs for health benefits.  I am intrigued by the possible/reported health benefits of going full keto but have decided to focus on eliminating sugar and rice, and reducing the carbs overall.