Stay at home mom needs help!

I'm new to this keto thing and I can use any and all advice, tips and tricks.  I’m a 37yo stay at home mom of two ages 10 and 8.  I feel like I’m letting my children and husband down because I can’t do the things with them that they would like me too. I have never been this weight before in my life, but depression got the better of me and I’ve gained over 150lbs.  I feel so overwhelmed that I’m not even sure how to start.  To make matters worse I have been diagnosed with high blood pressure, type 2 diabetes, and my cholesterol is on the high side. Will this diet really help to lose the weight and reverse my health issues?

4replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
    • Andrew Meyer
    • Software Developer
    • Andrew_Meyer
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

Possibly, but with Type 2 Diabetes you should do it under doctor supervision. There are some potential risks depending on how severe your type 2 Diabetes is. Some things to keep in mind.

1. It is not necessary to be in ketosis to "burn"/metabolize fat. The body can metabolize free fatty acids through Lipolysis,this process however is inhibited when there is sufficient glucose around.

2. If you do try to do a Keto diet, drink lots of water. As the body uses up its stored supplies of glucose it will release a lot of water.

3. When entering ketosis a lot of the initial weight loss is actually this water weight. Generally speaking the oxidation of 1 glucose molecule yields 10 water molecules the whole process is quite involved and actually somewhat beyond my full understanding.

Here is a sites with good starter information and that cuts through some of the hype and misinformation:

http://www.tuitnutrition.com/2017/09/measuring-ketones.html

If you want to dive deeper you can read  these:

Ketosis – advantaged or misunderstood state? (Part I) - The Eating Academy | Peter Attia, M.D. The Eating Academy | Peter Attia, M.D.