Day 1 of keto - did not reach the calorie target but maxed on the macros - need advise

Hi today was my day 1 of keto.  I almost reached the limit of all fat and protein intake but carb was a few grams over. But the problem is that almost maxing out on the macros my total calorie intake was still less by 200. Did any one else have the same experience? How do I balance the macros to calorie intake . 

6replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
    • Sherlock
    • Sherlock
    • 5 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

Congrats on getting close. Don't think of the fat number as an upper limit, think of it as a lower limit. Put some coconut oil in your coffee, if you don't like the oil slick then blend it. Or some butter im a meal and you're there. Watch those carbs tho, don't let them get over 5%. Good luck

Like 2
  • I'm fairly new to this too, but from what I understand, you shouldn't worry about the calorie intake... The idea is to control your carb intake.

Like 2
    • Badmojomn
    • badmojomn
    • 5 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

gognab17d  focus on the net carb count, and the other macros on how you feel. Getting through the keto flu which is coming up for you will be an accomplishment. It can be a rough experience for some, I went over on everything, even carbs just a bit so I wouldn’t dig into my husbands pizza and potato chips in his secret drawer. I had to eat multiple Keto friendly nuts and squeeze cheese which isn’t good for us, but I had to do it. 

Like 3